OpenAI Codex (ChatGPT plans) pricing & usage limits
Terminal/cloud agent · Message ranges per 5-hour window (vendor estimates) · Verified 2026-10-18
Plus 5h local-message ranges are vendor estimates and vary by task. USD price of a ChatGPT credit per plan NOT stated on page (unverifiable). GPT-5.5 retired from Codex 2026-10-14. Fast mode consumes 2.5x. API-key usage is an alternative.
| Plan | Price | Included | Limits / reset | Overage | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | GPT-6 Luna in desktop app (rollout) | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
| Go | $8 /mo | GPT-6 Luna in desktop app (rollout) | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Plus | $20 /mo | Not published | Per 5h local messages: GPT-6 Astra 5-45; GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160; GPT-6 Sol 15-150; GPT-6 Luna 350-3000 | Buy ChatGPT credits | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Pro | $100 /mo | Higher limits; tiers $100/$200/$500 (Ultrafast on $500) price_usd = entry tier | Currently no 5h limit; weekly limits may apply | Credits | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Business | $25 /user | Not published $20/user/mo billed annually (2+ users) per page footnote; $25 monthly | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
Credit rates (credits per million tokens)
| Model | Input | Cached input | Output |
|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-6.1 Sol | 50 | 2.5 | 250 |
| GPT-6 Luna | 2.5 | 0.25 | 12.5 |
The dollar price of one credit per plan is not stated on the official page, so we do not convert credits to dollars.
Official sources
OpenAI Codex usage limits explained →
Pricing changes
- 2026-10-14: Codex retires GPT-5.5 for ChatGPT sign-in
Estimate your monthly cost with OpenAI Codex (ChatGPT plans) →
Get pricing-change alerts
Coming soonEmail me when Cursor, Claude, Codex or Copilot change prices or limits.
Placeholder: signup is not live yet and no data is collected. Follow the RSS feed meanwhile.