OpenAI Codex usage limits explained
Last verified 2026-10-18
TL;DR
- Codex is included with ChatGPT plans: Free and Go (GPT-6 Luna in the desktop app, subject to rollout), Plus $20, Pro $100/$200/$500, Business $25/user monthly ($20 billed annually, 2+ users).
- On Plus, OpenAI publishes ranges of local messages per 5 hours, e.g. GPT-6.1 Sol 15–160 and GPT-6 Luna 350–3,000.
- Pro currently has no 5-hour limit; weekly limits may apply.
- Beyond included usage you can buy ChatGPT credits, or use Codex with an API key.
Plus: local messages per 5 hours (vendor estimates)
GPT-6 Astra 5–45 · GPT-6.1 Sol 15–160 · GPT-6 Sol 15–150 · GPT-6 Luna 350–3,000. Actual usage depends on task size and complexity.
Credits and speed modes
Credits are consumed per million tokens. Published rates (credits per 1M tokens, input / cached / output): GPT-6.1 Sol 50 / 2.5 / 250; GPT-6 Luna 2.5 / 0.25 / 12.5.
Fast and Ultrafast modes use included limits and paid credits at higher rates than Standard. Ultrafast is listed for the $500 Pro tier.
The dollar price of one credit is not stated on the Codex pricing page, so we do not convert credits to dollars.
Model changes
GPT-5.5 retired from Codex with ChatGPT sign-in on October 14, 2026.
OpenAI Codex (ChatGPT plans) plans at a glance
| Plan | Price | Included | Limits / reset | Overage | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | GPT-6 Luna in desktop app (rollout) | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
| Go | $8 /mo | GPT-6 Luna in desktop app (rollout) | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Plus | $20 /mo | Not published | Per 5h local messages: GPT-6 Astra 5-45; GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160; GPT-6 Sol 15-150; GPT-6 Luna 350-3000 | Buy ChatGPT credits | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Pro | $100 /mo | Higher limits; tiers $100/$200/$500 (Ultrafast on $500) price_usd = entry tier | Currently no 5h limit; weekly limits may apply | Credits | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Business | $25 /user | Not published $20/user/mo billed annually (2+ users) per page footnote; $25 monthly | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
FAQ
How many Codex messages does ChatGPT Plus get?
OpenAI publishes ranges per 5 hours that depend on the model, e.g. 15–160 local messages with GPT-6.1 Sol, or 350–3,000 with GPT-6 Luna.
Does ChatGPT Pro have a Codex limit?
Per OpenAI, Pro currently has no 5-hour limit, but weekly limits may apply.
What happens when I run out?
Buy ChatGPT credits, wait for the window to reset, or use Codex with an API key billed at API rates.
Not disclosed by the vendor
- Dollar price of a ChatGPT credit
- Exact weekly limits on Pro
Sources
All OpenAI Codex (ChatGPT plans) plans → · Estimate your monthly cost →
Get pricing-change alerts
Coming soonEmail me when Cursor, Claude, Codex or Copilot change prices or limits.
Placeholder: signup is not live yet and no data is collected. Follow the RSS feed meanwhile.