WhichCodingPlan

Codex vs OpenCode: pricing, limits & real cost

Prices verified 2026-10-18

Key differences

  • Codex has the cheaper paid entry: Go at $8/mo vs OpenCode Go at $10/mo.
  • Top individual tier: Codex Pro $100/mo vs OpenCode Go Plus $40/mo.
  • How usage is metered — Codex: Message ranges per 5-hour window (vendor estimates); OpenCode: Pay-as-you-go at provider cost.
  • OpenCode publishes a dollar-denominated allowance, so cost can be estimated from tokens; Codex does not disclose absolute capacity.

Estimated monthly cost by usage profile

Model used: GPT-5.6 Sol (or each vendor's own model family if it doesn't offer it). Token-per-hour figures are assumptions; open the calculator to change them.

ProfileCodexOpenCode
Light: 1 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $54/mo
Pro — $100/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Open source agent — $27–$81/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →
Medium: 3 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $413/mo
Pro — $100/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Open source agent — $207–$620/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →
Heavy: 6 h/day, 6 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $2,419/mo
Pro — $100/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Open source agent — $1,210–$3,629/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →

For plans that don't disclose capacity we show the cheapest plan priced at or above your API-equivalent usage. This is a heuristic, not a guarantee you won't hit limits.

Codex plans

PlanPriceIncludedLimits / resetOverageSource
Free$0GPT-6 Luna in desktop app (rollout)——
Verified 2026-10-18
Go$8 /moGPT-6 Luna in desktop app (rollout)——
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Plus$20 /moNot publishedPer 5h local messages: GPT-6 Astra 5-45; GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160; GPT-6 Sol 15-150; GPT-6 Luna 350-3000Buy ChatGPT credits
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Pro$100 /moHigher limits; tiers $100/$200/$500 (Ultrafast on $500)
price_usd = entry tier
Currently no 5h limit; weekly limits may applyCredits
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Business$25 /userNot published
$20/user/mo billed annually (2+ users) per page footnote; $25 monthly
——
Verified 2026-10-18

OpenCode plans

PlanPriceIncludedLimits / resetOverageSource
Open source agent$0Free agent; BYOK, Copilot or ChatGPT Plus/Pro login, or free models—Your provider's rates
Verified 2026-10-20
Go$10 /moPer-model monthly dollar limits (e.g. $15 for Grok 4.7, Kimi K3, Claude Haiku 5.5; $60 for GLM-5.2, MiniMax M3)
Open-weight and low-cost models only (no Claude Sonnet/Opus or GPT-6 Sol). Single-member workspaces.
5h = 20% and weekly = 50% of each model's monthly limitOptional fallback to Console pay-as-you-go balance; free models after limit
Verified 2026-10-20
Go Plus$40 /moHigher per-model monthly limits (e.g. $60 for Grok 4.7, Kimi K3, Claude Haiku 5.5; $180 for GLM-5.2, MiniMax M3)
Same token prices as Go; single-member workspaces.
5h = 20% and weekly = 50% of each model's monthly limitOptional fallback to Console pay-as-you-go balance
Verified 2026-10-20
Console pay-as-you-go$0Prepaid credits; models sold at cost (e.g. Claude Sonnet 5.5 $2/$10, GPT 6 Sol $2/$10 per 1M tokens)
Workspace and per-member monthly usage limits available. Auto-reload $20 when balance < $5 unless disabled.
—Per request at listed rates; card fees 4.4% + $0.30 passed through
Verified 2026-10-20

Sources

Codex pricing · OpenCode pricing · Calculator

Get pricing-change alerts

Email me when Cursor, Claude, Codex or Copilot change prices or limits. No spam, roughly 1–4 emails a month.

Only alert me about (optional)Only these (optional):

We only use your email for these alerts — never sold or shared. Stored on Cloudflare. See our privacy note.