Codex vs JetBrains AI: pricing, limits & real cost
Prices verified 2026-10-18
Key differences
- Codex has the cheaper paid entry: Go at $8/mo vs JetBrains AI AI Pro (individual) at $10/mo.
- Top individual tier: Codex Pro $100/mo vs JetBrains AI AI Ultimate (individual) $30/mo.
- How usage is metered — Codex: Message ranges per 5-hour window (vendor estimates); JetBrains AI: Dollar-denominated credits.
- JetBrains AI publishes a dollar-denominated allowance, so cost can be estimated from tokens; Codex does not disclose absolute capacity.
Estimated monthly cost by usage profile
Model used: GPT-5.6 Sol (or each vendor's own model family if it doesn't offer it). Token-per-hour figures are assumptions; open the calculator to change them.
| Profile | Codex | JetBrains AI | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Light: 1 h/day, 5 days/wk API-equivalent ≈ $54/mo | Pro — $100/mo Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown | AI Ultimate (individual) — $30–$76/mo Estimate (assumed credit burn) | Tweak → |
| Medium: 3 h/day, 5 days/wk API-equivalent ≈ $413/mo | Pro — $100/mo Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown | AI Ultimate (individual) — $202–$615/mo Estimate (assumed credit burn) | Tweak → |
| Heavy: 6 h/day, 6 days/wk API-equivalent ≈ $2,419/mo | Pro — $100/mo Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown | AI Ultimate (individual) — $1,205–$3,624/mo Estimate (assumed credit burn) | Tweak → |
For plans that don't disclose capacity we show the cheapest plan priced at or above your API-equivalent usage. This is a heuristic, not a guarantee you won't hit limits.
Codex plans
| Plan | Price | Included | Limits / reset | Overage | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | GPT-6 Luna in desktop app (rollout) | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
| Go | $8 /mo | GPT-6 Luna in desktop app (rollout) | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Plus | $20 /mo | Not published | Per 5h local messages: GPT-6 Astra 5-45; GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160; GPT-6 Sol 15-150; GPT-6 Luna 350-3000 | Buy ChatGPT credits | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Pro | $100 /mo | Higher limits; tiers $100/$200/$500 (Ultrafast on $500) price_usd = entry tier | Currently no 5h limit; weekly limits may apply | Credits | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Business | $25 /user | Not published $20/user/mo billed annually (2+ users) per page footnote; $25 monthly | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
JetBrains AI plans
| Plan | Price | Included | Limits / reset | Overage | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI Free | $0 | 3 credits / 30 days | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
| AI Pro (individual) | $10 /mo | 10 credits/mo | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
| AI Ultimate (individual) | $30 /mo | 35 credits/mo | — | Top-up credits valid 12 months | Verified 2026-10-18 |
Sources
Get pricing-change alerts
Coming soonEmail me when Cursor, Claude, Codex or Copilot change prices or limits.
Placeholder: signup is not live yet and no data is collected. Follow the RSS feed meanwhile.