WhichCodingPlan

Codex vs Cline: pricing, limits & real cost

Prices verified 2026-10-18

Key differences

  • How usage is metered — Codex: Message ranges per 5-hour window (vendor estimates); Cline: Pay-as-you-go at provider cost.
  • Cline publishes a dollar-denominated allowance, so cost can be estimated from tokens; Codex does not disclose absolute capacity.

Estimated monthly cost by usage profile

Model used: GPT-5.6 Sol (or each vendor's own model family if it doesn't offer it). Token-per-hour figures are assumptions; open the calculator to change them.

ProfileCodexCline
Light: 1 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $54/mo
Pro — $100/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Open source — $27–$81/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →
Medium: 3 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $413/mo
Pro — $100/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Open source — $207–$620/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →
Heavy: 6 h/day, 6 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $2,419/mo
Pro — $100/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Open source — $1,210–$3,629/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →

For plans that don't disclose capacity we show the cheapest plan priced at or above your API-equivalent usage. This is a heuristic, not a guarantee you won't hit limits.

Codex plans

PlanPriceIncludedLimits / resetOverageSource
Free$0GPT-6 Luna in desktop app (rollout)——
Verified 2026-10-18
Go$8 /moGPT-6 Luna in desktop app (rollout)——
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Plus$20 /moNot publishedPer 5h local messages: GPT-6 Astra 5-45; GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160; GPT-6 Sol 15-150; GPT-6 Luna 350-3000Buy ChatGPT credits
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Pro$100 /moHigher limits; tiers $100/$200/$500 (Ultrafast on $500)
price_usd = entry tier
Currently no 5h limit; weekly limits may applyCredits
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Business$25 /userNot published
$20/user/mo billed annually (2+ users) per page footnote; $25 monthly
——
Verified 2026-10-18

Cline plans

PlanPriceIncludedLimits / resetOverageSource
Open source$0Free extension; pay inference at cost or BYOK—Provider API rates
Verified 2026-10-18

Sources

Codex pricing · Cline pricing · Calculator

Get pricing-change alerts

Coming soon

Email me when Cursor, Claude, Codex or Copilot change prices or limits.

Placeholder: signup is not live yet and no data is collected. Follow the RSS feed meanwhile.