WhichCodingPlan

Codex vs Kiro: pricing, limits & real cost

Prices verified 2026-10-18

Key differences

  • Codex has the cheaper paid entry: Go at $8/mo vs Kiro Pro at $20/mo.
  • Top individual tier: Codex Pro $100/mo vs Kiro Power $200/mo.
  • How usage is metered — Codex: Message ranges per 5-hour window (vendor estimates); Kiro: Vendor credits (credit-per-task not disclosed).

Estimated monthly cost by usage profile

Model used: GPT-5.6 Sol (or each vendor's own model family if it doesn't offer it). Token-per-hour figures are assumptions; open the calculator to change them.

ProfileCodexKiro
Light: 1 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $54/mo
Pro — $100/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Pro Max — $100/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Tweak →
Medium: 3 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $413/mo
Pro — $100/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Power — $200/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Tweak →
Heavy: 6 h/day, 6 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $2,419/mo
Pro — $100/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Power — $200/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Tweak →

For plans that don't disclose capacity we show the cheapest plan priced at or above your API-equivalent usage. This is a heuristic, not a guarantee you won't hit limits.

Codex plans

PlanPriceIncludedLimits / resetOverageSource
Free$0GPT-6 Luna in desktop app (rollout)——
Verified 2026-10-18
Go$8 /moGPT-6 Luna in desktop app (rollout)——
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Plus$20 /moNot publishedPer 5h local messages: GPT-6 Astra 5-45; GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160; GPT-6 Sol 15-150; GPT-6 Luna 350-3000Buy ChatGPT credits
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Pro$100 /moHigher limits; tiers $100/$200/$500 (Ultrafast on $500)
price_usd = entry tier
Currently no 5h limit; weekly limits may applyCredits
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Business$25 /userNot published
$20/user/mo billed annually (2+ users) per page footnote; $25 monthly
——
Verified 2026-10-18

Kiro plans

PlanPriceIncludedLimits / resetOverageSource
Free$050 creditsResets monthly—
Verified 2026-10-18
Pro$20 /mo1,000 creditsResets monthly$0.04/credit
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Pro+$40 /mo2,000 creditsResets monthly$0.04/credit
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Pro Max$100 /mo5,000 creditsResets monthly$0.04/credit
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Power$200 /mo10,000 creditsResets monthly$0.04/credit
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed

Sources

Codex pricing · Kiro pricing · Calculator

Get pricing-change alerts

Coming soon

Email me when Cursor, Claude, Codex or Copilot change prices or limits.

Placeholder: signup is not live yet and no data is collected. Follow the RSS feed meanwhile.