Cursor usage limits explained (new X Subscription plans)
Last verified 2026-10-18
TL;DR
- Since 2026-10-12 new customers buy Cursor through The X Subscription: Plus $8, Premium $30, Super $100, Ultra $200 per month.
- Each paid plan includes a weekly usage pool for Cursor models (Grok 4.7/4.6/4.5, Composer 2.5), shared with Grok. Premium = 4x Plus, Super = 15x, Ultra = 50x.
- Third-party models (Claude, GPT, Gemini) are not in the pool. On Premium and above they bill at API list price from prepaid credit, from the first request. Plus cannot use them.
- The absolute size of the weekly pool is not published.
The weekly pool
Paid plans include a weekly pool of usage for Cursor models, shared across Cursor and Grok. Plans are sized relative to Plus: Premium 4x, Super 15x, Ultra 50x.
Plus runs Cursor models at fixed settings, without Auto, Cloud Agents, Automations, Bugbot, Origin, or third-party models.
Going past the pool: top-ups
Top-ups add prepaid credit. Credit pays for additional usage of Cursor models beyond the weekly pool, and for third-party model usage on Premium and above. You can set a monthly additional-usage limit and enable Auto Top-up.
Additional-usage rates for Cursor models (per million tokens, input / cache read / output): Grok 4.7 $2 / $0.50 / $6; Composer 2.5 $0.50 / $0.20 / $2.50.
Legacy Cursor plans
Customers on Pro ($20), Pro+ ($60), Ultra ($200) or older Teams seats keep their plan, with two monthly usage pools (Cursor Models and Other Models) and on-demand usage, unless they switch. Switching to The X Subscription is optional and permanent.
Cursor plans at a glance
| Plan | Price | Included | Limits / reset | Overage | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Limited Agent/chat | Resets weekly | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
| Plus | $8 /mo $80/yr annual | Base usage pool; Grok (4.7/4.6/4.5) & Cursor Composer 2.5 models only | Resets weekly | Cursor-model top-ups at listed rates | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Premium | $30 /mo $300/yr annual | 4x Plus pool; third-party models (Claude/GPT/Gemini) billed at API list price from prepaid credit | Resets weekly | API list price | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Super | $100 /mo $1000/yr annual | 15x Plus pool | Resets weekly | API list price | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Ultra | $200 /mo $2000/yr annual | 50x Plus pool | Resets weekly | API list price | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Teams | See tiers | Seat tiers $30/$100/$200 Seat tiers: Premium $30, Super $100, Ultra $200 per seat/mo; Plus not available for teams. | — | Third-party models at API price + Cursor Token Rate $0.25/M tokens | Verified 2026-10-18 |
| Enterprise | Custom | Custom | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
FAQ
How much usage does Cursor Plus include?
Cursor calls it the "Base" pool and publishes multipliers for higher tiers (4x, 15x, 50x), but not the absolute amount.
Can I use Claude or GPT on Cursor Plus?
No. Plus runs Cursor models only. Third-party models require Premium or above and are billed at API list price from prepaid credit.
Does my Cursor pool reset monthly?
On the new plans the included pool is weekly. Legacy plans use two monthly pools.
Do I have to leave my legacy Pro plan?
No. Legacy plans continue unchanged unless you switch, and switching is permanent.
Not disclosed by the vendor
- Absolute size of the weekly pool on any tier
- Size of the legacy Other Models (third-party) pool
Sources
All Cursor plans → · Estimate your monthly cost →
Get pricing-change alerts
Coming soonEmail me when Cursor, Claude, Codex or Copilot change prices or limits.
Placeholder: signup is not live yet and no data is collected. Follow the RSS feed meanwhile.