WhichCodingPlan

Cursor vs OpenCode: pricing, limits & real cost

Prices verified 2026-10-18

Key differences

  • Cursor has the cheaper paid entry: Plus at $8/mo vs OpenCode Go at $10/mo.
  • Top individual tier: Cursor Ultra $200/mo vs OpenCode Go Plus $40/mo.
  • How usage is metered — Cursor: Usage multiplier (absolute capacity not disclosed); OpenCode: Pay-as-you-go at provider cost.
  • OpenCode publishes a dollar-denominated allowance, so cost can be estimated from tokens; Cursor does not disclose absolute capacity.

Estimated monthly cost by usage profile

Model used: Claude Sonnet 5.5 (or each vendor's own model family if it doesn't offer it). Token-per-hour figures are assumptions; open the calculator to change them.

ProfileCursorOpenCode
Light: 1 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $25/mo
Premium — $43–$68/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Open source agent — $13–$38/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →
Medium: 3 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $191/mo
Premium — $125–$316/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Open source agent — $95–$286/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →
Heavy: 6 h/day, 6 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $1,104/mo
Premium — $582–$1,685/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Open source agent — $552–$1,655/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →

For plans that don't disclose capacity we show the cheapest plan priced at or above your API-equivalent usage. This is a heuristic, not a guarantee you won't hit limits.

Cursor plans

PlanPriceIncludedLimits / resetOverageSource
Free$0Limited Agent/chatResets weekly—
Verified 2026-10-18
Plus$8 /mo
$80/yr annual
Base usage pool; Grok (4.7/4.6/4.5) & Cursor Composer 2.5 models onlyResets weeklyCursor-model top-ups at listed rates
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Premium$30 /mo
$300/yr annual
4x Plus pool; third-party models (Claude/GPT/Gemini) billed at API list price from prepaid creditResets weeklyAPI list price
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Super$100 /mo
$1000/yr annual
15x Plus poolResets weeklyAPI list price
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Ultra$200 /mo
$2000/yr annual
50x Plus poolResets weeklyAPI list price
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
TeamsSee tiersSeat tiers $30/$100/$200
Seat tiers: Premium $30, Super $100, Ultra $200 per seat/mo; Plus not available for teams.
—Third-party models at API price + Cursor Token Rate $0.25/M tokens
Verified 2026-10-18
EnterpriseCustomCustom——
Verified 2026-10-18

OpenCode plans

PlanPriceIncludedLimits / resetOverageSource
Open source agent$0Free agent; BYOK, Copilot or ChatGPT Plus/Pro login, or free models—Your provider's rates
Verified 2026-10-20
Go$10 /moPer-model monthly dollar limits (e.g. $15 for Grok 4.7, Kimi K3, Claude Haiku 5.5; $60 for GLM-5.2, MiniMax M3)
Open-weight and low-cost models only (no Claude Sonnet/Opus or GPT-6 Sol). Single-member workspaces.
5h = 20% and weekly = 50% of each model's monthly limitOptional fallback to Console pay-as-you-go balance; free models after limit
Verified 2026-10-20
Go Plus$40 /moHigher per-model monthly limits (e.g. $60 for Grok 4.7, Kimi K3, Claude Haiku 5.5; $180 for GLM-5.2, MiniMax M3)
Same token prices as Go; single-member workspaces.
5h = 20% and weekly = 50% of each model's monthly limitOptional fallback to Console pay-as-you-go balance
Verified 2026-10-20
Console pay-as-you-go$0Prepaid credits; models sold at cost (e.g. Claude Sonnet 5.5 $2/$10, GPT 6 Sol $2/$10 per 1M tokens)
Workspace and per-member monthly usage limits available. Auto-reload $20 when balance < $5 unless disabled.
—Per request at listed rates; card fees 4.4% + $0.30 passed through
Verified 2026-10-20

Sources

Cursor pricing · OpenCode pricing · Calculator

Get pricing-change alerts

Email me when Cursor, Claude, Codex or Copilot change prices or limits. No spam, roughly 1–4 emails a month.

Only alert me about (optional)Only these (optional):

We only use your email for these alerts — never sold or shared. Stored on Cloudflare. See our privacy note.