WhichCodingPlan

Kiro vs OpenCode: pricing, limits & real cost

Prices verified 2026-10-18

Key differences

  • OpenCode has the cheaper paid entry: Go at $10/mo vs Kiro Pro at $20/mo.
  • Top individual tier: Kiro Power $200/mo vs OpenCode Go Plus $40/mo.
  • How usage is metered — Kiro: Vendor credits (credit-per-task not disclosed); OpenCode: Pay-as-you-go at provider cost.
  • OpenCode publishes a dollar-denominated allowance, so cost can be estimated from tokens; Kiro does not disclose absolute capacity.

Estimated monthly cost by usage profile

Model used: Claude Sonnet 5.5 (or each vendor's own model family if it doesn't offer it). Token-per-hour figures are assumptions; open the calculator to change them.

ProfileKiroOpenCode
Light: 1 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $25/mo
Pro+ — $40/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Open source agent — $13–$38/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →
Medium: 3 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $191/mo
Power — $200/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Open source agent — $95–$286/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →
Heavy: 6 h/day, 6 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $1,104/mo
Power — $200/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Open source agent — $552–$1,655/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →

For plans that don't disclose capacity we show the cheapest plan priced at or above your API-equivalent usage. This is a heuristic, not a guarantee you won't hit limits.

Kiro plans

PlanPriceIncludedLimits / resetOverageSource
Free$050 creditsResets monthly—
Verified 2026-10-18
Pro$20 /mo1,000 creditsResets monthly$0.04/credit
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Pro+$40 /mo2,000 creditsResets monthly$0.04/credit
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Pro Max$100 /mo5,000 creditsResets monthly$0.04/credit
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Power$200 /mo10,000 creditsResets monthly$0.04/credit
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed

OpenCode plans

PlanPriceIncludedLimits / resetOverageSource
Open source agent$0Free agent; BYOK, Copilot or ChatGPT Plus/Pro login, or free models—Your provider's rates
Verified 2026-10-20
Go$10 /moPer-model monthly dollar limits (e.g. $15 for Grok 4.7, Kimi K3, Claude Haiku 5.5; $60 for GLM-5.2, MiniMax M3)
Open-weight and low-cost models only (no Claude Sonnet/Opus or GPT-6 Sol). Single-member workspaces.
5h = 20% and weekly = 50% of each model's monthly limitOptional fallback to Console pay-as-you-go balance; free models after limit
Verified 2026-10-20
Go Plus$40 /moHigher per-model monthly limits (e.g. $60 for Grok 4.7, Kimi K3, Claude Haiku 5.5; $180 for GLM-5.2, MiniMax M3)
Same token prices as Go; single-member workspaces.
5h = 20% and weekly = 50% of each model's monthly limitOptional fallback to Console pay-as-you-go balance
Verified 2026-10-20
Console pay-as-you-go$0Prepaid credits; models sold at cost (e.g. Claude Sonnet 5.5 $2/$10, GPT 6 Sol $2/$10 per 1M tokens)
Workspace and per-member monthly usage limits available. Auto-reload $20 when balance < $5 unless disabled.
—Per request at listed rates; card fees 4.4% + $0.30 passed through
Verified 2026-10-20

Sources

Kiro pricing · OpenCode pricing · Calculator

Get pricing-change alerts

Email me when Cursor, Claude, Codex or Copilot change prices or limits. No spam, roughly 1–4 emails a month.

Only alert me about (optional)Only these (optional):

We only use your email for these alerts — never sold or shared. Stored on Cloudflare. See our privacy note.