Claude Code vs OpenCode: pricing, limits & real cost
Prices verified 2026-10-18
Key differences
- OpenCode has the cheaper paid entry: Go at $10/mo vs Claude Code Pro at $20/mo.
- Top individual tier: Claude Code Max 20x $200/mo vs OpenCode Go Plus $40/mo.
- How usage is metered — Claude Code: Usage multiplier (absolute capacity not disclosed); OpenCode: Pay-as-you-go at provider cost.
- OpenCode publishes a dollar-denominated allowance, so cost can be estimated from tokens; Claude Code does not disclose absolute capacity.
Estimated monthly cost by usage profile
Model used: Claude Sonnet 5.5 (or each vendor's own model family if it doesn't offer it). Token-per-hour figures are assumptions; open the calculator to change them.
| Profile | Claude Code | OpenCode | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Light: 1 h/day, 5 days/wk API-equivalent ≈ $25/mo | Max 5x — $100/mo Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown | Open source agent — $13–$38/mo Computed from published $ rates | Tweak → |
| Medium: 3 h/day, 5 days/wk API-equivalent ≈ $191/mo | Max 20x — $200/mo Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown | Open source agent — $95–$286/mo Computed from published $ rates | Tweak → |
| Heavy: 6 h/day, 6 days/wk API-equivalent ≈ $1,104/mo | Max 20x — $200/mo Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown | Open source agent — $552–$1,655/mo Computed from published $ rates | Tweak → |
For plans that don't disclose capacity we show the cheapest plan priced at or above your API-equivalent usage. This is a heuristic, not a guarantee you won't hit limits.
Claude Code plans
| Plan | Price | Included | Limits / reset | Overage | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | No Claude Code | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
| Pro | $20 /mo $200/yr annual | Claude Code; >=5x Free per session $17/mo when billed annually ($200 upfront). Fable model only via usage credits. | 5h session + weekly | Usage credits at standard API rates | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Max 5x | $100 /mo | 5x Pro usage; plus monthly Claude Platform API credits (see notes) Monthly only. Fable usable at 50% of weekly limits. | 5h session + weekly | Usage credits at API rates | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Max 20x | $200 /mo | 20x Pro usage; plus monthly Claude Platform API credits (see notes) Monthly only. | 5h session + weekly | Usage credits at API rates | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Enterprise | $20 /seat | Seat + usage billed at API rates | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
OpenCode plans
| Plan | Price | Included | Limits / reset | Overage | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Open source agent | $0 | Free agent; BYOK, Copilot or ChatGPT Plus/Pro login, or free models | — | Your provider's rates | Verified 2026-10-20 |
| Go | $10 /mo | Per-model monthly dollar limits (e.g. $15 for Grok 4.7, Kimi K3, Claude Haiku 5.5; $60 for GLM-5.2, MiniMax M3) Open-weight and low-cost models only (no Claude Sonnet/Opus or GPT-6 Sol). Single-member workspaces. | 5h = 20% and weekly = 50% of each model's monthly limit | Optional fallback to Console pay-as-you-go balance; free models after limit | Verified 2026-10-20 |
| Go Plus | $40 /mo | Higher per-model monthly limits (e.g. $60 for Grok 4.7, Kimi K3, Claude Haiku 5.5; $180 for GLM-5.2, MiniMax M3) Same token prices as Go; single-member workspaces. | 5h = 20% and weekly = 50% of each model's monthly limit | Optional fallback to Console pay-as-you-go balance | Verified 2026-10-20 |
| Console pay-as-you-go | $0 | Prepaid credits; models sold at cost (e.g. Claude Sonnet 5.5 $2/$10, GPT 6 Sol $2/$10 per 1M tokens) Workspace and per-member monthly usage limits available. Auto-reload $20 when balance < $5 unless disabled. | — | Per request at listed rates; card fees 4.4% + $0.30 passed through | Verified 2026-10-20 |
Sources
Get pricing-change alerts
Email me when Cursor, Claude, Codex or Copilot change prices or limits. No spam, roughly 1–4 emails a month.
We only use your email for these alerts — never sold or shared. Stored on Cloudflare. See our privacy note.