JetBrains AI vs Gemini Code Assist: pricing, limits & real cost
Prices verified 2026-10-18
Key differences
- How usage is metered — JetBrains AI: Dollar-denominated credits; Gemini Code Assist: Account-managed quotas (not disclosed).
- JetBrains AI publishes a dollar-denominated allowance, so cost can be estimated from tokens; Gemini Code Assist does not disclose absolute capacity.
Estimated monthly cost by usage profile
Model used: Gemini 3.1 Pro (or each vendor's own model family if it doesn't offer it). Token-per-hour figures are assumptions; open the calculator to change them.
| Profile | JetBrains AI | Gemini Code Assist | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Light: 1 h/day, 5 days/wk API-equivalent ≈ $29/mo | AI Pro (individual) — $15–$44/mo Estimate (assumed credit burn) | Standard — $22.80/mo Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown | Tweak → |
| Medium: 3 h/day, 5 days/wk API-equivalent ≈ $226/mo | AI Ultimate (individual) — $108–$334/mo Estimate (assumed credit burn) | Standard — $22.80/mo Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown | Tweak → |
| Heavy: 6 h/day, 6 days/wk API-equivalent ≈ $1,334/mo | AI Ultimate (individual) — $662–$1,997/mo Estimate (assumed credit burn) | Standard — $22.80/mo Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown | Tweak → |
For plans that don't disclose capacity we show the cheapest plan priced at or above your API-equivalent usage. This is a heuristic, not a guarantee you won't hit limits.
JetBrains AI plans
| Plan | Price | Included | Limits / reset | Overage | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI Free | $0 | 3 credits / 30 days | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
| AI Pro (individual) | $10 /mo | 10 credits/mo | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
| AI Ultimate (individual) | $30 /mo | 35 credits/mo | — | Top-up credits valid 12 months | Verified 2026-10-18 |
Gemini Code Assist plans
| Plan | Price | Included | Limits / reset | Overage | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | $22.80 /user | Not published $19/user/mo with annual commitment | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Enterprise | $54 /user | Not published $45/user/mo with annual commitment | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
Sources
- https://www.jetbrains.com/help/ai-assistant/licensing-and-subscriptions.html ↗
- https://codeassist.google/ ↗
JetBrains AI pricing · Gemini Code Assist pricing · Calculator
Get pricing-change alerts
Coming soonEmail me when Cursor, Claude, Codex or Copilot change prices or limits.
Placeholder: signup is not live yet and no data is collected. Follow the RSS feed meanwhile.