WhichCodingPlan

GitHub Copilot vs Devin Desktop (Windsurf): pricing, limits & real cost

Prices verified 2026-10-18

Key differences

  • GitHub Copilot has the cheaper paid entry: Pro at $10/mo vs Devin Desktop (Windsurf) Pro at $20/mo.
  • Top individual tier: GitHub Copilot Max $100/mo vs Devin Desktop (Windsurf) Max $200/mo.
  • How usage is metered — GitHub Copilot: Dollar-denominated credits; Devin Desktop (Windsurf): Daily/weekly quotas (numbers not disclosed).
  • GitHub Copilot publishes a dollar-denominated allowance, so cost can be estimated from tokens; Devin Desktop (Windsurf) does not disclose absolute capacity.

Estimated monthly cost by usage profile

Model used: Claude Sonnet 5.5 (or each vendor's own model family if it doesn't offer it). Token-per-hour figures are assumptions; open the calculator to change them.

ProfileGitHub CopilotDevin Desktop (Windsurf)
Light: 1 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $25/mo
Pro — $10–$33/mo
Estimate (assumed credit burn)
Max — $200/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Tweak →
Medium: 3 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $191/mo
Max — $100–$186/mo
Estimate (assumed credit burn)
Max — $200/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Tweak →
Heavy: 6 h/day, 6 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $1,104/mo
Max — $452–$1,555/mo
Estimate (assumed credit burn)
Max — $200/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Tweak →

For plans that don't disclose capacity we show the cheapest plan priced at or above your API-equivalent usage. This is a heuristic, not a guarantee you won't hit limits.

GitHub Copilot plans

PlanPriceIncludedLimits / resetOverageSource
Free$02,000 completions + 50 chat requests/mo (per FAQ)Resets monthly—
Verified 2026-10-18
Pro$10 /mo$15 of AI credits ($10 base + $5 flex)Resets monthly$0.01/credit via budget
Verified 2026-10-18
Pro+$39 /mo$70 of AI credits ($39 base + $31 flex)Resets monthly$0.01/credit via budget
Verified 2026-10-18
Max$100 /mo$200 of AI credits ($100 base + $100 flex)Resets monthly$0.01/credit via budget
Verified 2026-10-18

Devin Desktop (Windsurf) plans

PlanPriceIncludedLimits / resetOverageSource
Free$0Light quota; unlimited TabResets daily+weekly—
Verified 2026-10-18
Pro$20 /moIncreased quotas, frontier modelsResets daily+weeklyExtra usage at API pricing
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Max$200 /moSignificantly higher quotasResets daily+weeklyExtra usage at API pricing
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Teams$80 /moNot published
+$40/mo per full dev seat
——
Verified 2026-10-18
EnterpriseCustomNot published——
Verified 2026-10-18

Sources

GitHub Copilot pricing · Devin Desktop (Windsurf) pricing · Calculator

Get pricing-change alerts

Coming soon

Email me when Cursor, Claude, Codex or Copilot change prices or limits.

Placeholder: signup is not live yet and no data is collected. Follow the RSS feed meanwhile.